SEIU-UHW Executive Board Vacancy Election

June 15, 2017

Congratulations to our Newly Elected Executive Board Members!

Candidates without opposition are declared elected.  (Click on the newly elected Executive Board member’s name to view their candidate statement.)

Hospital Division

District 4: Antelope Valley, Barstow – Tiara D’Andrade

District 5: Washington Hospital – Jernetta Backus

District 7: Enloe and Crothall, Compass/Morrison – Karissa Hodgson

District 7: Mercy Sacramento, Dignity Foundation Clinics – Tereza Eckard

Kaiser Division

Kaiser District 6 – Sacramento: Roseville, Lincoln, Folsom – Michelle Crisp

Kaiser District 7 – South LA:  Orange County North, Orange County South, San Diego – Denise Ellis-Lathon


INSTALLATION OF NEWLY ELECTED EXECUTIVE BOARD:  Newly elected Executive Board members will be installed at the next Executive Board Meeting, August 4-6, 2017.


SEIU-UHW Leadership Structure

Officers:  President and Vice-President.  The officers are elected Union-wide.

Executive Committee:  There are eight (8) seats on the executive committee (rank and file member and staff UHW member-eligible) which are elected Union-wide.  Additional seats on the Executive Committee are based on a ratio of 1 seat for every 5,000 members by division and geography, and only rank-and-file members are eligible.  Members from each division elect members to these seats.

Executive Board:  These seats are based on a ratio of one (1) seat for every five hundred (500) members – by division and by geography-only rank-and file members are eligible.  Members elect members from their constituency.

Advisors to the Executive Board:  Two (2) financial officers and two (2) ethics officers are elected by each division.  Only rank-and-file members are eligible.

SEIU-UHW Elections Committee:

Co-Chairs/Ethics Officers:  

Dory Machica (Kaiser Division); Martha Alvarez (Hospital Division)


Abisola Oshodi Adebowale (Hospital Division); Gigi Toledo (Kaiser Division);

Sonya Allen-Smith (Kaiser Division); Toni Burns (Hospital Division)


Phone:  510-587-4505