Election Victories

Each election cycle SEIU-UHW members endorse hundreds of candidates running for state and local office. We are happy to report the victories of many of our endorsed candidates from the 2022 general election.

We believe everyone should be able to get quality, affordable healthcare provided by caregivers who are valued and respected.

By working to elect officials who support that vision we can ensure we have allies in the fight for better working conditions, stronger contracts, and access to care, so that all Californians — no matter what we look like, where we live, or what work we do — can lead happy, healthy lives. SEIU-UHW is also committed to supporting candidates who are aligned with our vision for racial justice.


U.S. Congress

Endorsed Candidate Area
8 John Garamendi Fairfield/Sonoma
9 Josh Harder Stockton
11 Nancy Pelosi San Francisco
12 Babara Lee Berkeley
15 Kevin Mullin South San Francisco
16 Anna Eshoo Fresno
17 Ro Khanna Fremont
18 Zoe Lofgren San Jose
19 Jimmy Panetta Monterey
24 Salud Carbajal Santa Barbara
25 Raul Ruiz Santa Clarita
26 Julia Brownley Oxnard
28 Judy Chu Monterey Park
29 Tony Cárdenas Van Nuys
30 Adam Schiff Sherman Oaks
32 Brad Sherman Malibu
33 Pete Aguilar San Bernardino
34 Jimmy Gomez Los Angeles
35 Norma Torres Pomona
36 Ted Lieu Torrance
37 Sydney Kamlager Culver City
38 Linda Sánchez Norwalk
39 Mark Takano Riverside
42 Robert Garcia Long Beach
43 Maxine Waters South Los Angeles
44 Nanette Barragán San Pedro
46 Lou Correa Anaheim, Santa Ana
49 Mike Levin San Juan Capistrano
51 Sara Jacobs San Diego, Yuma
52 Juan Vargas Imperial

Ballot Initiatives

Initiative Number
1: Constitutional right to reproductive freedom, defined to include abortion and contraceptives
28: Require funding for K-12 art and music education
31: Uphold a ban on the sale of flavored tobacco products

Statewide Positions


Position Endorsed Candidate
Attorney General Rob Bonta
Controller Malia Cohen
Governor Gavin Newsom
Lt. Governor Eleni Kounalakis
Senator Alex Padilla
Secretary Of State Shirley Weber

California State Senate

Note: In 2022, only even-numbered districts hold elections.

SD Endorsed
2 Mike McGuire Santa Rosa
10 Aisha Wahab Hayward, Fremont, Milpitas
14 Anna Caballero Fresno
18 Steve Padilla San Diego
24 Ben Allen Santa Monica, Torrance
26 Maria Elena Durazo Echo Park
28 Lola Smallwood-Cuevas Culver City
30 Bob Archuleta Norwalk
34 Tom Umberg Santa Monica
38 Catherine Blakespear Encinitas

California State Assembly


Assembly District Endorsed Candidate Area
2 Jim Wood Santa Rosa
6 Kevin McCarty Sacramento
11 Lori Wilson Sacramento
12 Damon Connolly North Bay
14 Buffy Wicks Oakland
15 Tim Grayson Concord
16 Rebecca Bauer-Kahan Livermore
17 Matt Haney San Francisco
18 Mia Bonta Oakland
19 Phil Ting San Francisco
20 Liz Ortega Hayward
21 Diane Papan South San Francisco
23 Marc Berman Mountain View
24 Alex Lee Milpitas
25 Ash Kalra Santa Clara County
26 Evan Low San Jose
27 Esmeralda Soria Fresno
28 Gail Pellerin Santa Clara County
29 Robert Rivas Salinas
30 Dawn Addis San Luis Obispo
31 Joaquin Arambula Fresno
36 Eduardo Garcia El Centro
37 Gregg Hart Santa Maria
38 Steve Bennett Ventura
39 Juan Carrillo Lancaster
40 Pilar Schiavo Santa Clarita
41 Chris Holden Pasadena
42 Jacqui Irwin Thousand Oaks
43 Luz Rivas Arleta
44 Laura Friedman Burbank
46 Jesse Gabriel Ventura
49 Mike Fong Monterey Park
50 Eloise Reyes San Bernardino
51 Rick Chavez Zbur West Hollywood
52 Wendy Carrillo Echo Park
53 Freddie Rodriguez Pomona
54 Miguel Santiago Downtown Los Angeles
55 Isaac Bryan Culver City
56 Lisa Calderon Industry
57 Reggie Jones-Sawyer South Central Los Angeles
58 Sabrina Cervantes Riverside
60 Corey Jackson Moreno Valley
61 Tina McKinnor Ingelwood
62 Anthony Rendon Lakewood
64 Blanca Pacheco Downey
65 Mike Gipson Compton
66 Al Muratsuchi Torrance
68 Avelino Valencia Anaheim, Orange, Santa Ana
69 Josh Lowenthal Long Beach
76 Brian Maienschein San Diego
77 Tasha Boerner Horvath Poway
78 Chris Ward Imperial Beach
79 Akilah Weber San Diego
80 David Alvarez Chula Vista

Local Endorsements


City/County Office District or Seat # First Name Last Name
Alameda County Sheriff Countywide Yesenia Sanchez
Alameda County Supervisor 2 Richard Valle
Anaheim Mayor Citywide Ashleigh Aitken
Anaheim City Council 2 Carlos Leon
Baldwin Park Mayor Citywide Emmanual Estrada
Contra Costa County Supervisor 1 John Gioia
Contra Costa County Supervisor 4 Ken Carlson
Culver City City Council At Large Freddy Puza
Culver City School Board At Large Triston Ezidore
Culver City School Board At Large Stephanie Loredo
El Cerrito City Council At Large Gabe Quinto
Inglewood Ballot Initiative Citywide Measure HC YES
Long Beach City Council 5 Megan Kerr
Long Beach City Council 9 Joni Ricks-Oddie
Long Beach Mayor Citywide Rex Richardson
Los Angeles Ballot Initiative Citywide Measure ULA YES
Los Angeles City Council 5 Katy Young Yaroslovsky
Los Angeles City Council 15 Tim McOsker
Los Angeles Mayor Citywide Karen Bass
Los Angeles School Board 2 Rocio Rivas
Lynwood City Council At Large Jose Munoz
Lynwood City Council At Large Jose Solache
Lynwood City Council At Large Gabriela Comacho
Oakland City Council 2 Nikki Fortunato Bas
Oakland Mayor Citywide Sheng Thao
Orange County Supervisor 5 Katrina Foley
Orange County Supervisor 2 Vicente Sarmiento
Oxnard City Council 2 Gabe Teran
Oxnard City Council 5 Gabriela Basua
Pasadena Measure H YES
Sacramento City Council 3 Karina Talamantes
San Jose City Council 5 Peter Ortiz
San Leandro City Council 1 Celina Reynes
San Mateo County Supervisor 3 Ray Mueller
San Ramon City Council 4 Marisol Rubio
Santa Ana City Council 2 Benjamin Vasquez
Santa Clara County Supervisor 1 Sylvia Arenas
Santa Cruz County Supervisor 3 Justin Cummings
Santa Cruz County Supervisor 4 Felipe Hernandez
Santa Monica City Council At Large Caroline Torosis
Santa Monica City Council At Large Jesse Zwick
Solano County Supervisor 3 Wanda Williams
Suisun City City Council At Large Princess Washington
West Hollywood City Council At Large Chelsea Byers